Happy Birthday John!

Posted: December 22, 2012 in Uncategorized

Twas the day after doomsday, when the party began..
A great celebration for a really nice man!

He’s cleanin’ his gun by the tv with care -
Waitin’ for Star Trek to come on the air.

Stryper is nestled and snug in the bed,
Johns feelin’ good – he’s been takin’ his meds! :)

Tamys in the kitchen (that’s his really special girl)
She met him at a sci-fi convention and took care of him when he hurled.

John re-enacts wars and believes the soldier still matters!
He’s a wise historian and really can chatter!

He has a passion for animals and a tribute to his goat…
Even had a dingo named Zingo – who liked to eat soap!

A special post just for you, since today you turned fifty!
I just want you to know – we all think you’re nifty!!

You have a sweet heart that is golden and good -

Happy Birthday, John!

With Love,
from the Hood.

Comments
  1. Aw, you remembered Zingo and the soap! :D Thank you SO much! And I WILL be sure to share it with Tamy – she’ll appreciate the nod!

    • You’re so welcome! You really are a sweetheart! I hope you had the best day ever!
      I’m sorry it took me so long to get it out here – we had major commotion in the Hood today with a shoot out…I have new neighbors that are nuts!! (but that’s how it goes in the Hood)

      • Wow – a shoot out? Dang – all I got is an emergency run to deliver 3 pups to a pet rescue, and one of my cats managing to dig up a mouse in the house! You win! (Yeah, I know, not the kind of contest you even want to ENTER, much less win! 8O )

  2. Carrie Rubin says:

    Fun birthday tribute to John. I’m seeing quite a few of them around the blogosphere. He’s a popular guy. :)

  3. El Guapo says:

    Wonderful, whitelady!
    (You have hidden talents.)

    Hope all has calmed down after today’s excitement in the hood, and it stays quiet well beyond the new year. (And that you and your husband stay safe.)

    • Thanks, Guapo, for your kindness and nice words. Unfortunately, the guns have been blasting off all morning….we have a 70% chance of snow for tomorrow night (it hasn’t snowed more than an inch here on Christmas in 80 something years) if it gets cold and icy – that seems to drive people in and keep them calmer….strange, I know. I think the Hood hates Christmas – very few people believe in peace around here.
      and p.s. I’m sorry I didn’t reply to the b-day e-mail for John! I didn’t see it until yesterday…I check my e-mail maybe once a mo and then it’s just to select all.delete.select all. delete. Someone would have to put “Hey, I’m talkin’ to you” as the subject line, before I would realize it wasn’t just a copy of a post…..

  4. Sightsnbytes says:

    a great tribute to an interesting blogger by an interesting blogger. 50 is a big accomplishment, I will be learning more about that big day next September.. Great poem!

  5. Alex Autin says:

    Wow, another awesome bit of poetry there Chica! I don’t even know John, but I have to say well done on the post! Also, wow….a shoot out? You ARE going to write a post about it, yes??

    Wishing you the very best of the holiday season Chica, and the brightest of new years! I SO hope you get that snow!! :D

    • You know, Alex, it can be so crazy around here – almost like living in a different world. I see so much violence every single day…I’m almost scared to write about it…even though, that’s what I intended this blog to be about..I don’t think people can relate to it…maybe I’ll break out of the box again soon..it’s hard to put into words that I sat here and watched two guys beat the shit out of each other in the street and they go back n forth, back n forth all day, fighting and threatening each other. Then darkness falls and the guns come out. I also have a new neighbor that likes to beat the shit out of his wife – their 3 little girls came running out of the house the other night and started beating on someones door begging for help…

  6. [...] Visit these other birthday tributes: Fasab, Elyse, Guapo, Weebs, Doggy, Jamie, Brainrants, Benzeknees, Archon, The Idiot Speaketh, WhiteLadyInTheHood [...]

  7. aFrankAngle says:

    LOL … Tributes don’t get better than a first-class poem for on meds. Well done!!! … Happy birthday John!

  8. Archon's Den says:

    Indeed! Well done. Hasn’t it been a hoot (not shoot)?

  9. BuddhaKat says:

    I’m quite impressed, at your poetic finesse!!!
    Nicely done!
    :)

  10. a really nice poem by a really nice you!

  11. Smaktakula says:

    What a sweet birthday tribute!

  12. Eric Murtaugh says:

    John sounds like a pretty cool guy! Do you write poetry often? You have talent!

Leave a Reply

